Mission Mode

11/16 3:00 AM Update: A high number of people have reported difficulty downloading the latest build of the game. I will try to solve the problem as soon as possible!

NOTE: The most recent build of the game is currently only available via the game’s official website / launcher. It is currently not available from Mediafire. Please have patience; hopefully it will be available from Mediafire soon.

The latest build of the game is finally ready! The star feature of this build is a new gameplay mode called “Mission Mode”! Here’s a video that explains everything about it:

The last three times I proposed a new feature for the game, I received a very strong negative response from the fanbase. I really hope that this new gameplay mode won’t be rejected, too. If you don’t like it, please remember that I only spent three days on it, and I don’t have to keep updating it…unless people enjoy it, and really want to see it expand. At the very least, I hope that it gives you something interesting to do while waiting for Osana!

Here’s a list of everything that is new in the latest build of the game:

  • The weapons that were previously placed in front of the school have been re-located to more logical locations.
  • Fixed bug that would cause students’ arms and legs to look strange after disabling “Distant Animations”.
  • Fixed bug that would cause gloves to float in midair after being removed from Yandere-chan’s arms.
  • Darkened the shadow that appears over Yandere-chan’s face when she loses sanity.
  • Made numerous changes to the game’s code in order to improve the framerate.
  • Added debug command for increasing the school’s population to 100.
  • Added new architecture to the locker area of the school.
  • Fixed bug that made ragdolls twitch indefinitely.
  • Added an arch above the entrance of the school.
  • Added debug command for killing all students.
  • Added a new hairstyle for Yandere-chan.
  • Added Mission Mode.
  • It’s possible to change the background music in Mission Mode by pressing the Confirm button over the music icon in the pause screen.

Just in case you were curious to know what the main Culprits of the framerate problem were, the majority of the problem stemmed from these three issues:

  • Many UI elements (windows, numbers, letters) were active / updating even while they were offscreen / invisible. I told them to deactivate when offscreen and only activate when onscreen.
  • Setting a character’s rotation is an expensive operation. I told characters to stop updating their rotations if they are within 1 degree of the direction that they need to be facing.
  • Some scripts were performing calculations when it was not necessary for them to be doing anything. I told them to deactivate when they are not needed.

After making those changes, the framerate shot up to almost 20 FPS higher than it was last week! I’m even seeing 60 FPS under some circumstances (but, to be honest, those are circumstances when very few characters are moving / very few polygons are being shown onscreen).

Vacation Time!

The last time I took a vacation was in September 1 of 2015. I would really like to take some time off! I’m going to spend the next two weeks relaxing instead of working. I’ll still spend time corresponding with various volunteers to make sure that Osana’s development continues moving along, but I will also spend time catching up on all the anime and video games I missed out on in 2015 and 2016.

I always aim to update the game on the 1st and 15th days of every month. Because I’ll be on vacation for the next two weeks, it’s unlikely that the game will receive a huge update on Dec 1st. Maybe a little update…but not a big one. With that said: if any critical bugs are discovered in the latest build of the game, I’ll fix them as soon as possible.

Fan art contest?

Last year, I held a fan art contest while I was on vacation. I’d like to do that again this year! If I decide to go through with it, you’ll hear from me on November 18th. What will the contest be about, you ask? It’ll be a surprise! Just be patient!

As always, thank you for following the development of Yandere Simulator!

225 thoughts on “Mission Mode

  1. This sounds awesome! It’d be fun if (eventually) there were mission-like things from Info-chan during the main game, as another way to get favors from her (as she only accepts 1 panty shot from each girl, which makes it limited). This could also be easily expanded so that not every mission is an assassination. There could be others like eavesdropping or taking photos to learn secrets (explaining how info-chan knows everything), sneak around to steal things, or something else, and it could also give an extra purpose to the town area by having some missions occur there on your way to school. Since in the final game, you have to wait for the right opportunity to eliminate your rival (instead of just running up to them and stabbing them), this could also be a fun side thing in the meantime (or after the rival’s taken care of, and there’s still some days in the week).
    I know YandereDev doesn’t like suggestions, but this could easily be a mod in the future, or just some ideas to expand this new mode (again, in the future).

  2. ⓄⓄⒽ Ⓘ ⒸⒶⓃⓉ ⓌⒶⒾⓉ ⓊⓃⓉⒾⓁ ⓉⒽⒺ ⒻⒶⓃ ⒶⓇⓉ ⒸⓄⓃⓉⒺⓈⓉ!! ⒶⓃⒹ ⓌⒽⒺⓃ ⒾⓉ ⒽⒶⓅⓅⒺⓃⓈ ⒼⓄⓄⒹⓁⓊⒸⓀ ⒺⓋⒺⓇⓎⓄⓃⒺ!! 😊😄😊😄(Ⓘ ⓁⓊⓋ♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️ ⒶⓇⓉ!!)

  3. Pingback: 2016 Fan Art Contest | Game Development Blog

  4. YandereDev i have a question about Mission Mode

    1. Why cant you use the ritual knife to “kill” your target if the weapon you MUST use is a knife.
    for example:

    Target: Oka Ruto

    Weapon: Must be a knife

    Must do’s: Mop up the blood, no witnesses

    Way to depose: Wood Chipper

  5. Personally, regarding the new Missions mode, specifically regarding the idea of a “hunter” tracking you and attempting to kill you while you try to track and hunt your victim, I think if the hunter attacks you, you should be able to “stun” them, run out of their line of sight, and blend in with other students to confuse them. Thereby not killing the hunter outright, but also giving the player some means to protect themselves against the hunter.

  6. It’s very fun despite being a “ripoff of Hitman.” Though I understand that it was done in only 3 days and you will make it more original with time (if you choose to keep it in the game). 🙂

  7. Pingback: November 19th Bug-Fixing Update | Game Development Blog

  8. Yandere Dev, sorry to bother you but somehow I can’t get the new update and I tried downloading it again and it still wont let me update the game. any suggestions? Anyone else who has any suggestions please let me know

  9. I really love this mode! I think it’ll add a lot to the game, and I especially like the idea of someone hunting you in turn. I think that it would make things much, much more entertaining. You feel pretty god-like playing Yandere Simulator, even without cheats, so I think it’s a much-needed feature.

    It would be especially interesting if the photography club would do something similar. I’m not sure if you planned on them stalking Yandere-chan or not, but it might be very interesting. Of course, they wouldn’t kill her…or maybe they would.

Leave a comment