Larger-Than-Average Build, Delay Explanation, E-mail Policy Clarification, and Questions for Community

A new build is now available! Usually, I update the game as soon as the latest build contains 10 noteworthy differences from the previous build (whether those differences are bug fixes, changes to previous content, or the addition of new content). This time around, I couldn’t really decide on the “right” time to upload the build, so I held onto it for longer than usual. I held onto it for so long that it now contains around 23 differences from the previous build. Wow!

I noticed that some fans were expressing concerns about the lack of a new build or progress update at the beginning of the month. I have a lot to say about that subject, and I’m going to elaborate further down in this blog post. I also have a lot to say regarding a recent misunderstanding and my policy towards e-mails. Additionally, there are a bunch of questions that I’d like to ask the Yandere Simulator fan community; you’ll find several polls at the bottom of this post.

As usual, this blog post will start off with the changelog for the latest build. To check it out, scroll down past this amazing illustration of Megami Saikou by an artist named “21“!

Click “Continue Reading” to read the list of everything that is new in this build, followed by an explanation for the “delay” of this build, followed by some words I’d like to say about my e-mail policy, followed by a bunch of polls for the community.

Fixes, Changes, and Additions

  • Fixed a bug with the medium-sanity bat animation that would cause the character’s arms to be rotated incorrectly if the animation began while the victim was crouching in fear before they were attacked.
  • Kokona no longer bathes in the same spot where Yandere-chan bathes in the locker room. (This could result in a bug where the two girls were bathing in the same spot at the same time.)
  • There is now an animation and sound effects for tranquilizing a girl with a syringe. This animation will only play when tranquilizing a student in the storage room.
  • Fixed bug that would cause Yandere-chan to fail to properly change into the correct set of clothing when stepping into a changing booth to remove a club uniform.
  • Improved the Gardening Club Leader’s hair and face textures, and gave her gardening gloves. (These gloves might be used by Yandere-chan in the future…)
  • Fixed bug that would cause Yandere-chan’s corpse-carrying animation to break when using the “Change Persona” command while carrying a corpse.
  • Fixed bug that would cause kidnapped victims in Yandere-chan’s basement to have different-sized breasts when their torture animation began.
  • Fixed bug that would cause Yandere-chan to leave shoeprints instead of footprints when barefoot while wearing the Martial Arts uniform.
  • Added three more idle animations to the mirror in the Light Music Club. (Still not ready to elaborate about the purpose of the mirror!)
  • Updated the school’s fountains with new 3D models and textures that more accurately reflect the look-and-feel of the school.
  • There is now an animation for lifting up a girl’s body and dumping it into the musical instrument case in the storage room.
  • Fixed bug that would allow the player to use the “Distract” command to send multiple students to distract another student.
  • Fixed bug that would cause Yandere-chan to not properly return to her intended idle animation after dropping a corpse.
  • Fixed bug that would cause a student to remain in “Distract/Distracted” protocol even after being splashed with water.
  • Replaced the old scissor model with a new scissor model with a much more reasonable polygon count.
  • Fixed bug that was causing bloody shoeprints to not spawn when using the new walk animation.
  • Replaced some copyrighted easter egg music with original music composed for Yandere Sim.
  • Adjusted Pippi’s hair model to hide polygon “backfaces”.
  • Fixed bugs with some of Yandere-chan’s hairstyles.
  • Replaced previous corpse-dragging animations.
  • Added a new hairstyle for Yandere-chan.
  • Replaced sewing machine sound effect.
  • Added physics to Midori’s hair.

Why wasn’t this update out sooner?

If you’ve been following Yandere Simulator’s development for a long time, then you’re probably aware that I usually release a video and a new build of the game on the 1st and 15th day of every month. Sometimes the video/build are delayed for a day or two, but there’s generally an update somewhere around the beginning and somewhere around the middle of every month.

I think it’s important to keep people updated on the progress of the game’s development. Because April 1st is a holiday, I uploaded April Fools videos on April 1st – but I didn’t intend for those prank videos to be substitutes for actual development videos. I still intended to upload a serious video about the game’s development, too.

My plan was to upload a development-related video immediately after April 1st. However, I wasn’t able to pull it off on April 2nd; there were a bunch of things that felt more urgent than the video; volunteers who needed to speak to me, bugs that needed to be fixed, Osana-related assets that were begging to be implemented, etc. The same thing happened on April 3rd. April 4th was my monthly day off. And then, I spent April 5th catching up with all of the correspondence that piled up on the 4th…

Once I passed April 5th, there was no longer a sense of “urgency”; there was no longer a sense of “I gotta make a video!!!” or “I gotta upload a new build!!!” there was only a sense of “Wow, there sure is a lot of work that needs to be done. I’d better take care of it.” It no longer felt important to put out a new video or a new build by some imaginary, arbitrary, self-imposed “deadline”. The only thing that felt important was making significant progress on the game.

I kept asking myself:

  • What’s more important – uploading a new build, or making more progress?
  • What’s more important – writing blog posts, or making more progress?
  • What’s more important – making a video, or making more progress?

Every time, I wanted to give the same answer: I should keep making progress. I should fix that bug. I should contact that volunteer. I should make plans with tinyBuild. Everything else felt so low priority. So…optional.

Making blog posts, making videos, uploading builds…it all feels like a bonus. Like something I should only do if I have the time. Game development is my top priority. Keeping people updated on my progress is a high priority, too, but it’s not the highest. I don’t want to drop what I’m doing and make a video or upload a build because I’ve reached some date on the calendar that represents an imaginary, arbitrary, self-imposed “deadline” that only exists because of tradition.

Some people got seriously angry at me for not releasing a new build at the beginning of this month. Is it really that big of a deal? I understand that it’s important to keep the fans updated – but are you really going to freak out just because you didn’t hear from me for a week? Is that seriously that big of a problem? Is it really worth getting mad about? I honestly don’t think it’s something worth freaking out about. I feel like there was quite an over-reaction from some members of the fanbase.

I don’t feel like my job is to release builds/videos every two weeks. I feel like my job is to make Yandere Simulator, and I feel like I am doing my job. From 1:00 PM until 12:00 midnight, I’m either fixing bugs, or giving instructions to volunteers, or reviewing volunteer submissions, or implementing new assets, or taking time to plan/design things that require forethought to be implemented properly, or having discussions with tinyBuild, or answering media inquiries, or writing dialogue for cut-scenes and events, or taking care of business-related stuff, or gathering reference materials for volunteers. I try as hard as I can to find time to implement new features, and I try as hard as I can to make progress with Osana, but it’s difficult, because there are dozens of other things I also need to take care of.

The only promise I’m going to make to you is that I’m going to pour my heart and soul into making the best video game I can make, with the time and resources that are available to me. I’m not going to promise you anything on any specific calendar date. If you get a build on the 1st or 15th day of a month, that is a bonus.

I was able to maintain a twice-a-month update schedule for three years. Why? To be completely honest, it’s because I was working an inhuman number of hours every week, because I didn’t have so many “project manager” tasks at that point in time, and because the majority of work I had to do was “low-hanging fruit” that I could easily take care of in under two weeks.

I cut down my hours because the fanbase urged me to take better care of myself. I have a lot more responsibilities now than I had before. I’ve already implemented all of the low-hanging fruit. At this stage of the game’s development, it’s becoming less and less possible to stick to the old “1st and 15th of every month” schedule; you’ve seen how many times I’ve delayed an update for 24 or 48 hours.

It may be time to consider slowly retiring the the twice-a-month update schedule, and adopting a new “whenever it’s ready” update schedule. The twice-a-month schedule is something that I’ve been clinging to because of tradition, not because it is reasonable or sustainable. I’m going to try to keep it going if possible, but please acknowledge the difficulty in maintaining this kind of schedule, and please understand the possibility that it simply cannot continue.

E-mail Policy

There is something that I feel is worth mentioning. A few days ago, we passed the one-year anniversary of my most infamous video. I consider that video to be a huge mistake. You can’t make the Internet stop doing something by telling them that it annoys you, and asking them to stop. It simply doesn’t work. It was a complete waste of time to produce that video.

That video sent the message “I don’t want people to communicate with me.” This is not correct. The message I wanted to communicate was, “I want 12-year-old kids to stop spamming me with dumb e-mails.”

I do want people to communicate with me, if there is something important that should be addressed. Let me give you an example.

My most favorite video game of all time is Persona 3. The Persona series inspired many of Yandere Simulator’s features. On April 4th, Persona 5 was released (in English). There is perhaps no other video game that could possibly be more relevant to Yandere Simulator’s development; allow me to explain.

  • Persona 5 has several features that I was planning for Yandere Simulator. I can study Persona 5 to understand the smartest way to implement these features.
  • Persona 5 takes place in a Japanese high school. I can study Persona 5 to gain knowledge of how to accurately depict Japanese high school life in a video game.
  • Persona 5 has many environments that I want to have in Yandere Simulator. I can take screenshots and record video footage of Persona 5 to provide volunteers with visual reference of the kind of 3D models that I need.

I’ve said this numerous times already, but I take a day off once per month. I decided to take a day off on April 4th to play Persona 5, not only because it is the latest game in my most favorite franchise of all time, but because I knew it would be full of useful information for Yandere Simulator. I played the game, actively hunting for anything that could assist me with Yandere Sim, and snapping screenshots of anything even remotely meaningful towards development. I live-streamed the entire experience, too. In the end, I played Persona 5 for 13 hours straight!

The next morning, I awoke to find a shocking number of people calling me “lazy” and “dishonest”. They were saying, “YandereDev claims that he works all day long, but yesterday, he played a video game for 13 hours!”
Oh, Jesus Christ.
Most people take two days off per week – Saturday and Sunday. I take one day off per month…and even when I do that, I keep my eye open for anything that can help Yandere Simulator…and then I get called “lazy” and “dishonest”.
Several days of drama would never have happened if those people had simply contacted me directly instead of spreading a stupid narrative born from ignorance. Why didn’t they just e-mail me? Well, maybe it’s because of a certain video where imply that I hate receiving e-mails. Maybe, if I’d never made that video, people wouldn’t be afraid to contact me so that I could address their concerns and clear up misunderstandings.
It’s extremely important to halt the spread of stupid rumors, put a stop to false narratives, and cure ignorant beliefs. I don’t want anyone to feel afraid to contact me and ask me to explain something that is bothering them.
In short: Instead of going into the comment section and saying “YandereDev played Persona 5 for 13 hours, he’s lazy!” you should contact me directly and ask, “Why did you play Persona 5 for 13 hours?” so that you can get a straight answer. The purpose of this video was to explain that stupid e-mails are a waste of my time – but it is always worth my time to address someone’s concerns so that they don’t wind up spreading false rumors or a bizarre narrative, and I will always make time to clear up misunderstandings. Please don’t feel afraid to contact me if you’ve read or seen something online that you want me to explain.
Polls
I’d like to get the community’s opinion on a few things.
Uploading a new build and a new video on the 1st and 15th day of every month should be…
http://poal.me/wjyyb6
Can a build/video be “late”?
http://poal.me/a9tpac
Should YandereDev make an announcement every time a build/video will not be uploaded on the 1st/15th?

264 thoughts on “Larger-Than-Average Build, Delay Explanation, E-mail Policy Clarification, and Questions for Community

  1. I think you should have a schedule,not a crazy one like every two weeks,but one that you can accomplish,a “deadline” that is at least posssible to follow without too many problems.And you should update us whenever it’s possible,even if is to say that the game isn’t ready.Some teasers of your work and the next update would be cool but not mandatory and would prove that you aren’t goofing around to those people who calls you lazy,and teasers make us expect even more for the next update,like with the matchmaking update.

    The videos seems to consume too much time,don’t need to upload them every two weeks,just do when you find it relevant to do and the community already does videos about updates.Also,I would like to see a video analysing Persona 5 just like you did with Hitman and Natsuiro High School.But in the end,always take care of yourself in the end,it’s not good to sacrifice yourself too much for your work.

  2. the ones who called YanDev a lazy dishonest dude, they are basically treating YanDev like a slave. not only it would harm the fanbase’s name, it could also harm YanDev’s health (mental and physical). i really feel like this should stop and i feel YanDev shouldn’t be treated this way, i just hope that YanDev can develop the game in peace and i hope the best (and i mean THE BEST!!) for YanDev’s life

  3. Hello YandereDev I have had a mistake with the game lately … it is about a crash, this happens to me when I restart the day or when I sleep and I move to the next day. I would like you to give me an answer, maybe it is because of the memory of my device. I am looking forward to your response.

  4. Yandere dev has a point, he works twenty four seven and he gets comments saying “Your lazy!” That’s just messed up, he can have a break too you know! He’s a human being too, he needs a break every once in a while, it’s not that big of a deal people!!!

    • Don’t be absurd. I’m sure YandereDev gets at least a few hours of sleep per week.

      (Could some administrator delete the comment where I flubbed the punchline? I can’t edit anything…)

  5. your physical health is number 1
    your mental health is number 2
    game development is number 3
    you ARE hard working
    you ARE good at what you do
    please please please remember to take the time to relax, rest, and recoup because when you’re at your best you can give your best.and create your best

  6. To Yandere Dev,

    I know this letter may get lost somewhere in the comment section somewhere, but that doesn’t matter. Just hear me out: you shouldn’t have to force yourself to make new video updates on the first and 15th of every month. The people who claim that you’re “lazy” or “unreliable” can seriously go shove it. They don’t understand the time and dedication that it takes to make a video game and will never understand how much willpower that you have. You are a human being as well as an amazing game developer. You certainly deserve to have time taken off to yourself, whether its for a few days or a few weeks/months. You’re mental, physical and emotional health are more important than releasing new builds, constant programming and giving the fans constant updates. I know that you want to be able to keep an audiance and keep people entertained with new, constant builds of the game, but you have to realize that you’re human.

    You’re going to need breaks.
    You’re going to need to take days off.
    You’re going to need to be able to have a peaceful mind in order to center yourself and keep yourself mentally fit.

    Please, do not worry about us, Yandere-Dev. The real fans of Yandere Simulator wouldn’t worry about if you were posting something new on the first and 15th. You need to worry about taking care of yourself, okay?

  7. Poor dude! Lazy? Pshaww~ He doesn’t need those people who say “MWEHMWEHMEH I wan’ mai build! He be lazy, MWEHEHEMWEH~” at all! These “bonuses” are quite helpful, but really – if they aren’t important to you, they don’t matter too much. After a while, it’s hard to stick to the same routine, I get that and I praise you for dealing with this poop. Welp, I hope you have a nice life (even if no one reads this ;P).

  8. I’m curious on who keeps calling YandereDev lazy… -.- Like honestly, YandereDev explained to us in more ways than one about why everything is gonna be delayed. If they can’t understand, ignore them.

  9. Hey YandereDev! I’m Brazilian, and I do not speak much English. But, I’m here to tell you that you’re my hero. Just do your will and be sure to communicate with us. I am christian. And I’m going to keep asking God to bless you. Do not need to answer. But at least read this review !!! Thanks. With affection, Gabi. I love you so so so much! πŸ™‚ >-<

  10. Yanderedev, please take the time to read this, i know you feel it’s duty to work on Yandere Sim, but how can you work if you are not taking care of yourself? You know that your fans love you, and are dying for the next update, but i am patient, so are a lot of us. You need to remember that if you want something, or decide to change something, THE FANS need to adapt, not you, because at the end of the day, it’s your game, your rules, your style. Do what YOU think is right. Thankyou for taking your time to read this.

  11. Thank you for clearing up the thing about playing video games for 13 hours! I’ve seen a lot of people complain about that, and I’m happy to hear the full story.

    I am proud that you aren’t just making up excuses like “I work 24/7” or “it’s all the volunteers’ fault” anymore. Not saying that you were blaming the volunteers ever, it’s just that you sometimes find the need to justify why you weren’t able to get the build out. I don’t think that’s necessary, though. I can’t speak for everyone, in fact, I know a lot of people will disagree with me on this, but I don’t really care why it didn’t get out in time as long as you admit why. Heck, you could have been slacking off and I really wouldn’t care as long as you owned up to that and don’t do it again.

    Most importantly, I do want you to remember that you need to worry about your health more than the game. That doesn’t mean play video games all day and ignore the game, of course, but everyone has basic needs. Remember to eat well, get some sleep, and take showers regularly. And mental health is important, too! Don’t completely cut off everyone in your life. You need to make time for friends and family also. Once again, that doesn’t mean you should neglect the game completely, but human interaction is required for you to stay healthy. You will become depressed if you don’t talk to people. That’s why I don’t have a problem with you live streaming, because you can interact with people online as you play games, which takes care of both your fun and social needs that we all require. So just remember, physical health comes first, mental health comes second, and the game comes third.

    So, just know that whatever decision you make about the schedule of the game, I support you as long as you stay healthy. I know I don’t know you personally, you might even be a huge jerk for all I know, but what I do know is that I want you to be healthy because I want to see you and this game to succeed, and no one deserves to slowly work themselves to insanity.

    Keep up the good work, and don’t give up, okay? Thanks.

  12. Yandere Dev don’t listen to they probably can’t develop crap and you take care of yourself remember true fans will understand
    1 Yourself is more important if playing games and watching anime makes you happy do so anyways it helps the game development if you are happy.
    2 YanSim comes after

  13. Hey ‘YanDev, you seriously need to take care of yourself.
    You’re already overstretching yourself as it is. You need to take a bit of time off and chill out. Yandere Sim is a luxury, like any other video game and or console/gadget. Please try and take better care of yourself, you seem stressed out to the maximum.

    Do whatever makes you feel happy. If developing Yandere Sim is stressing you to the max, take a step back and relax, play some Crash Bandicoot, kick ass at Sonic the Hedgehog…. (sorry, gamer girl side coming out :P) And hey:

    WHOEVER READS THIS GODDAMN FREAKING REPLY, BE NICE TO YANDERE DEV!!!

    I hope you read this πŸ™‚

  14. Thank You very much . Your blogs are very much helpful for me. I am implementing your SEO tricks for many of my clients in my Company, Teddytech SEO company in Kerala NBA 2K18 MT
    Every day your blogs are getting more useful and interesting.

  15. It’s funny, really.
    There are games where all we get are teaser trailers every three months for, and guess what?
    They don’t get complaints like YanDev does.
    They don’t release a new build for their fans every other week, they don’t keep a blog open, they don’t upload videos talking about progress, they do none of this.
    They just give the fans maybe a few tweets and trailers, perhaps some info from a demo version or interview.
    It’s not funny, actually.
    It’s hilarious.

  16. I know is too late, but I think you need to release a new build when you want, whenever it’s ready. It makes no sense to charge a date, because that date varies with your job, and you decide your job. (Sorry for my bad english)

Leave a comment