May 4th Bug-Fixing Build

Edit: Aw shucks, the executable was named incorrectly in the latest build, so the game wouldn’t run. I’ve uploaded another new build with the executable name fixed.

Somehow, I was completely unaware of several extremely severe bugs that were inside of the last few builds! Yikes! I’ve decided to release another bug-fixing build that should smooth things out.

Scroll down past this jaw-droppingly beautiful illustration by Vlad Bacescu to see a list of everything that I fixed, changed, or added in the new build!

  • Fixed bug that would cause Kokona to act as though she had been doused with water if the player was pointing a camera at her while she was standing at her locker during the point in time when her “go to locker room” event was supposed to trigger.
  • Fixed bug that would cause Kokona to freeze in place and never move again if the player was pointing a camera at her during the point in time when her “go to locker room” event was supposed to trigger.
  • Fixed bug that would cause a giant circular shadow to slowly move across the school rooftop from 12:20 PM to 12:50 PM. (Nobody will EVER guess what was causing this bug to occur…)
  • (Hopefully) fixed bug that would prevent the Yandere-chan from being able to ask NPCs to follow her if she had killed one of her previous followers without being witnessed.
  • Yandere-chan will now drop anything she is holding in her hands when the player chooses to prepare food, bathe, or change clothes.
  • Fixed bug that would cause the Guidance Counselor to scold Kokona even if she was dead.
  • Fixed texture bugs that would occur if the player created a bald Senpai.
  • Students will now react to the sight of Yandere-chan carrying a corpse.
  • Fixed bug that would prevent the player from tranquilizing students.
  • Added a new easter egg.

“What? A new easter egg? YandereDev, you baka! Stop spending time on easter eggs!”

Chill, it only took me an hour to add to the game. Besides, this easter egg is something I publicly promised to implement in 2014. Everyone else has probably forgotten about that promise by now, but I didn’t forget! I’m a man of my word! It took me 2 years, but I finally kept my promise.

What’s next?

I think that the latest build can finally be called “stable”. I’m aware that there are still bugs in the game, but at this stage of development, I’m only interested in fixing “critical” bugs – bugs that make it impossible to play the game. Eventually I’ll make sure the game is 100% bug-free, but at this point in time, it’s more important to focus on implementing the core gameplay mechanics and adding the game’s most important content.

I’m not sure whether I’ll use the next 11 days to add a bunch of small additions or one huge addition. Either way, I hope you’ll enjoy what I add to the game next!

126 thoughts on “May 4th Bug-Fixing Build

  1. I liked the Elfen Lied Lucy and Sith Lord easter egg suggestions above. I’ll raise the idea of Link, picking up the Master Sword which spawns at school. Akin to Bad Time mode’s multiple abilities, Sith Lord and Link can have other things such as the Force or Link’s tools put onto other buttons?
    I also liked the suggestion of having one build dedicated to greater details in the school (drinking fountains, trophies/awards, etc). It’d really add life and richness to the school imo.
    This isn’t important, but am I wrong to think it’s strange that you can’t pick up and run with tranquilized people while you can do the same with corpses? There’s no real gameplay reason this is an issue, but I just find it a little strange.

  2. Why you took seriously about the Ebola mode? It is just an easter egg! When i read the other comments here, i was like “uggh. It’s just a game! They’re over-acting.”. And remember, in the future the easter egg will not be implemented in the final game.
    And it’s fun to play the Ebola Mode! If you don’t like it, go somewhere on the internet, play other games or just throw your device on your window. People these days. Be open-minded guys.

  3. People are taking the Ebola Mode way to seriously saying, “Why would you make fun of a horrible, horrible disease?”
    Meanwhile, they are playing a game about murder, suicide, bullying, kidnapping, torture, etc.
    Come on.

  4. While Ebola isn’t a great topic to poke fun at,

    You’re all playing a game about a girl who is so crazy that she tries to kill anyone who even thinks about some guy.

    And sometimes when you kill someone in a manner you think is funny

    You laugh

    And if you don’t like an Easter egg (that nobody’s even forcing you to use)

    Then

    Stop

    Playing

    The

    Game.

  5. I just wanted to add this here for other people: Don’t get me wrong, I love the idea of this game, but “Ebola Mode” IS pushing the limit here. Yes, you’re playing a killing game, but joking about Ebola makes it a little too real.

    Think about it. The chances of a yandere girl picking off people for a guy she likes in real life is hardly possible of actually happening. Someone spreading Ebola to kill numerous people, however, is MUCH more possible (The fact that she’s dressed like a nurse is a little rude too). While I’m not going to sit here and protest it and try to remove it from the game, I’m trying to justify why people are upset and chill out the people getting their panties in a twist about WHY people are upset. Come on guys, use your heads.

  6. Pingback: May Preview #10 | Game Development Blog

  7. “Fixed bug that would cause a giant circular shadow to slowly move across the school rooftop from 12:20 PM to 12:50 PM. (Nobody will EVER guess what was causing this bug to occur…)”
    the turtle?
    a ufo?
    senpai?
    an unimplemented feature?
    titan mode?
    the rival?
    clouds?
    some extraterrestrial being trying to communicate with us?
    your sibling?

    also, that’s creepy

  8. “this easter egg is something I publicly promised to implement in 2014. Everyone else has probably forgotten about that promise by now, but I didn’t forget! I’m a man of my word! It took me 2 years, but I finally kept my promise.”

    Oh, You!

  9. Pingback: SphaxZGaming’s About Yandere Simulator! – SphaxZGaming

Leave a comment