Delinquent Update Trailer

For the majority of the game’s development, I followed a “1st and 15th day of every month” update schedule. Last year, I explained the reasons why it wasn’t feasible to stick to such a schedule anymore, and announced that I’d only be uploading new videos/builds whenever I accomplished something significant. But, I still feel bad whenever we pass the 1st or 15th without a cool new feature being added to the game. I worry that, when there’s not a new video or update, people will assume I haven’t been doing any work at all.

So, I wanted to create a video with a preview of upcoming content to prove that I’ve been actively working on the game this entire time. The result is this video right here:

I’d love to say “the Delinquent Update will be available on April 20th” or something like that, but time estimates are never accurate, because there’s always some unforeseen problem I run into, an asset that I realize I’m missing, or a new game-breaking bug that needs to be fixed. So, instead, I’m just going to say that it’ll be available when it’s ready, whenever that is.

I feel like the delinquents are 90% functional at this point, so I don’t think you’ll be waiting long, but after they are functioning properly, I’ll want to go through and polish everything that looks janky, fix every bug I can find, etc. I’ll give you an example of what I mean: It only took 1 day of work to get the combat minigame operational, but it created a bunch of new work…

  • What happens if the player triggers the “enter combat minigame” state with two delinquents simultaneously? Who takes priority?
  • What happens if a delinquent notices the presence of a corpse while he’s in the middle of the combat minigame? Should “acknowledge corpse” code be disabled during the minigame?
  • How should the other delinquents react if they discover Yandere-chan locked in combat with a member of their gang? How about Senpai, teachers, or student council members?
  • If a character is standing extremely close to Yandere-chan when she begins the combat minigame, should the character back up? What if they’re against a wall and have nowhere to back up to?
  • Should there be circumstances that cause a delinquent to have mercy on Yandere-chan and end the minigame prematurely, without knocking her out? What state is Yandere-chan left in, after these conditions have been met?

(Don’t bother answering any of these questions in the comment section below; I already have the solutions. I’m just explaining that, after you implement a new feature, a dozen new scenarios are created that all need to be accounted for.)

Adding new features is fun and usually easy, but all of the new “what if?” scenarios, edge-cases, and bugs take a long time to resolve. That’s the position I’m currently in with the delinquents. Even though I could release them immediately, I don’t want you to see a bunch of weird stuff like this, so I’m taking a few more days to make sure they’re polished and bug-free before I release them.

(Though, no matter how hard I try to make the next update as bug-free as possible, it’s almost certain that you’ll see me release a “Bug-Fixing Build” within 24 hours, since there will always be game-breaking bugs that slip past me…)

I hope that this video gets you excited for the upcoming delinquents, and most importantly, I hope it demonstrates that I’ve been very busy over the past couple of weeks!

(If you’re curious where the music in the video comes from, it’s an original track composed for Yandere Simulator! I’ll upload a full version of the track sometime over the next few days.)

…oh, and by the way, there are a bunch of things I’d love to share with you! Click “Continue Reading” if you’d like to see them!

PearlUmimaki1834 drew this beautiful artwork to celebrate the game’s 4-year anniversary:

My YouTube channel hit 2 million subscribers recently! Wiccan-Artist created this chilling artwork to celebrate!

And MariaNandrade13 drew an absolutely adorable little illustration to celebrate 2 million subs!

_Zhimin dressed up as Yandere-chan, and it looked absolutely gorgeous!

https://www.instagram.com/p/BhZj6hEAUx-/

Two of my favorite cosplayers returned from a 2-year hiatus, and the first thing they did was to cosplay as Yandere-chan and Info-chan! I’m flattered!

Kirax created a really cool Yandere Simulator-themed music video to the song “Losing My Mind” by Mystery Skulls!

My most favorite song on the Yandere Simulator songtrack is IRISHTRISH‘s Mission Mode track. I absolutely LOVE that track! And last month, Trish reprised the track! I think it sounds absolutely fantastic – please give it a listen!

I think that’s everything I wanted to share. Now it’s time for me to get back to work and hopefully have the Delinquent Update ready soon!

Thank you for following the development of Yandere Simulator!

149 thoughts on “Delinquent Update Trailer

  1. Congratulations on the good work with yanderedev delinquents and also Congratulations on the 2 million subscribers on YouTube, we are concerned about your health so do not try too hard OK baka!

  2. I know you told us not to answer your given question BUT I’m not answering your questions, I’m GUESSING what you will do about those questions (And I’m sure you already came up with them so this is just to satisfy myself, excuse me… ^^;)
    1. If the player triggers the combat minigame with two delinquents simultaneously then you’ll random between one of them or whoever Yan-chan triggered first will go first. It’s unlikely that they’ll have a fight between themselves about who get to beat up a girl first lol.

    2. I a delinquent notices a corpse while he’s in the middle of the combat minigame then you’ll make him react to it instead of fighting.

    3. If other delinquents see Yandere-chan fighting with a member of their gang they’ll watch the fight. If Senpai sees the fight it’s immediately game over. If teachers or student council members see Yan-chan’s fight then Yan-chan will go to the councilor’s office and I’m 100% sure you will make the debug build get a game over screen.

    4. If a character close to Yandere-chan when she starts fighting then of course they will back up. If they’re trapped then I think you’ll make them run the animation when they see a murder and crouch down to hide with hands holding their head?

    5. Yan-chan getting beaten but still able to walk is already mercy. I hope you don’t take away the female delinquents because They will have no mercy. The guys follow Osoro so they should be manly enough to not knocking out a girl unconsious, yes?

    Excuse my nosiness XP Thank you for your hard work and gambatte Devpai!

      • The fact that you are scared that someone will attack you for being excited for the update shows me how toxic the commenters on here are. The people on here needs to calm down and allow people to speak their opinions.

        And I am excited for the delinquents as well! 😀

  3. Will the female delinquents be gone forever or will they be coming back some way or another? (There was probably something to answer this question but I’m not sure where it is)

  4. If you come to class with injuries, like shown in the trailer, will the teacher send you to the nurse’s office? If so, will the nurse care for your needs, seeing as you’re not a delinquent?

  5. YandereDev please let previev view. I am from Russia and still decided to write to you and I really want to fight with the Delinquents!

    • I don’t think they were erased. In my memories there were two groups of delinquants near the “trash/fire place” entrance. A group of a men at left and a group of women at the right.

      OR PERHAPS, there will be males only, until the delinquant rival come and kick their ass, then she will create a group of female delinquants.

      Kinda like to guess how it will be. Also great trailer, I really like the rythm and the sound design!

  6. I call it! The leader of the delinquents is the daughter of the guidance councellor. That would be so dope! It would give grounds for her missing so much school too, as well as this making it more difficult to eliminate her.

  7. Guys, I’ve watched the Delinquent Trailer again and….
    The fact about, Osoro defeated a guy from another school and became his coat…
    It’s not true, there’s a guy in the pictures who wears this coat, and he is from Akademi High

  8. I swear I wasn’t curious about that questions until I read “I already have the solutions”… NOW I’M THINKING SO HARD ABOUT ALL OF THEM!!!!!

    • Did you not read the blog?! He said “It’ll be ready, when its ready!” He also said “I would like to say the delinquents will be here by April 20th” That’s saying that he isn’t certain weither they will be complete by then or not. Next time read it carefully and be patient, 7 year old.

  9. Yandere Dev, Yandere Dev!
    My computer can’t boot up the school. And from my current knowledge, I can’t open the phone menus which allows me to adjust frame rate settings. Can you make it possible to turn these settings of before you go to the school? My computer is kinda slos and I can’t afford a better one. This feature would be great.

    (To Anyone: If I am wrong, please correct me.)

  10. Hi po, sorry please remove and stop adding more delinquents from the game please… Continue to add art club members.

    • He isn’t adding new delinquents he is removing the old delinquents and ading new ones oh and he needs to fix the framerate to add the art club.

      • Yandere Dev said that on Reddit

        Although I said “Gotta fix some bugs” at the end of the Delinquent Trailer, a lot of other stuff came up over the past week that caused a delay – it was all good stuff, though! Some 3D modellers finally delivered some models I’ve been waiting a long time for, I unexpectedly got some really cool new assets for the delinquents that I wasn’t planning but couldn’t resist adding, and I added an additional outcome for the combat minigame besides win/lose. I’m super happy with everything that got done over the past week.

        The last remaining task was to implement all their voiced lines. Last night, I implemented over 70 voiced lines for them, and now I’m completely finished implementing assets for the delinquents. Now I just have to do one last playthrough to hunt for bugs, and then I can write the script/record the narration/make the video.

      • I just don’t understand why does it take so much time for yandere dev to fix some bugs. There’s a bug fixing build every time after an actual update is released and now it takes more than 1 week for him. I understand if there’s a lot to fix since it’s a new minigame/combat system but yeah my hype is gone now too. :/

    • Yandere said that on Reddit

      Although I said “Gotta fix some bugs” at the end of the Delinquent Trailer, a lot of other stuff came up over the past week that caused a delay – it was all good stuff, though! Some 3D modellers finally delivered some models I’ve been waiting a long time for, I unexpectedly got some really cool new assets for the delinquents that I wasn’t planning but couldn’t resist adding, and I added an additional outcome for the combat minigame besides win/lose. I’m super happy with everything that got done over the past week.

      The last remaining task was to implement all their voiced lines. Last night, I implemented over 70 voiced lines for them, and now I’m completely finished implementing assets for the delinquents. Now I just have to do one last playthrough to hunt for bugs, and then I can write the script/record the narration/make the video.

  11. Soooooooooo I guess this means we’ll have to wait until May 1 then? I don’t mind and when you think about it the timing would be perfect since it would’ve been exactly two weeks since he updated us so I’m okay with waiting until May 1

    I mean any long-time fan of which I am proud to say I am would now how this works by now. Patience is a virtue right?

  12. Please stop and remove all delinquents from the game and get back to add more members of art pls. Thank you

Leave a comment