Jan 17th Bug-Fixing Build

As of now, the winner of the Easter Egg Contest has had their easter egg added to the game! You can now experience “Hunger Mode”!

The current implementation of Hunger Mode is actually quite simple. You can think of this as the “first draft”. Although I’m satisfied with the visuals, I think that the easter egg still needs a bit more depth. I may decide to improve it in the future with better sound effects, new voiced lines, and more powers to unlock by “eating”. I may try to set aside some time to play “Little Nightmares” for further inspiration!

Of course, there are some other changes in this build, too! Primarily bug fixes. To see a list of everything that is different in the latest build, scroll down past this super-artsy illustration by Type-Silber!

I also have something else to mention, but it’s completely unrelated to Yandere Simulator, so I understand if you aren’t interested. I’ll write it in “code” so that you only have to read it if you really care enough to decode it.

Fixes, Changes, Additions

  • Added “Hunger Mode” Easter Egg. This one works differently than others. In the beginning, you will move very slowly. Each time you “eat”, you will gain speed.
  • To prevent bugs, Student Council members will now longer shove you or pepper spray you while an easter egg is active.
  • Fixed bug that would cause Kocho and Genka’s profiles to not display properly while inside of Yandere-chan’s home.
  • Fixed bug that would cause Yandere-chan to be expelled for “Insanity” if she giggled while she was trespassing.
  • Fixed bug that would cause female Teacher’s Pets to perform the wrong animation when hiding in a classroom.
  • Fixed animation bug that would cause Yandere-chan’s skirt to twitch during her crawling idle animation.
  • Fixed bug that was preventing the Photo Gallery from displaying pictures that the player had taken.
  • Fixed animation bug that would cause Yandere-chan’s eyes to twitch during her idle animation.
  • Fixed bug that would cause male Teacher’s Pets to run in place when hiding in a classroom.
  • Replaced the “leaning left and right” animation with a more natural-looking animation.
  • The player can no longer get a Game Over from Senpai while an easter egg is active.

Bonus Message

Yr Veroeha 17dn, 2009, U mdhielit e futiy keli wyh dni wuhmd duli. Ud sylbcidica snerkit la cuwi; yrsi U iqbihuirsit dni dnhucc yw bceaurk futiy kelim znuci urdihesdurk zudn e puk eotuirsi, U tutr’d zerd dy ty eradnurk icmi! Wyh e bihuyt yw mifihec aiehm, U mdhielit ifiha tea, omoecca wyh 12 nyohm mdheuknd!

Lera aiehm nefi bemmit mursi dnir, ert mdhielurk um ryz fiha cyz yr la bhuyhuda cumd. Nyzifih, ifiha aieh, yr Veroeha 17dn, U degi e tea yww dy hibcea dni wuhmd keli U ifih mdhielit: Himutird Ifuc 4. Ert yr Veroeha 19dn, U degi erydnih tea yww dy hibcea dni misyrt keli U ifih mdhielit: Lamdusec Rurve Mdehhurk Kyilyr.

Uw ayo’t cugi dy vyur li, ayo ser wurt li ed dzudsn.df/aertihitif mdehdurk ed 12:00 ryyr ur dni BMD dulijyri. Ifir uw ayo yrca byb ur wyh e wiz lurodim vomd dy mea niccy, U zyoct pi fiha nebba dy mii ayo dnihi!

69 thoughts on “Jan 17th Bug-Fixing Build

  1. Ah, I thought you had a college degree in computer sciences, given your coding facility!
    As always, well done, and keep going forward Yanderedev.

  2. On January 17th, 2009, I streamed a video game for the first time. It completely changed my life; once I experienced the thrill of playing video games while interacting with a big audience, I didn’t want to do anything else! For a period of several years, I streamed every day, usually for 12 hours straight!

    Many years have passed since then, and streaming is now very low on my priority list. However, every year, on January 17th, I take a day off to replay the first game I ever streamed: Resident Evil 4. And on January 19th, I take another day off to replay the second game I ever streamed: Mystical Ninja Starring Goemon.

    If you’d like to join me, you can find me at twitch.tv/yanderedev starting at 12:00 noon in the PST timezone. Even if you only pop in for a few minutes just to say hello, I would be very happy to see you there!

    Translated it before I went to bed. It’s in AI bhed; a language from a Final Fantasy game.

    • First of all, playing a new game could also be a part of his leisure time, and also, it’s not JUST and easter egg. It is a prize of a contest with over 100 entries, and also it would be quite an interesting new feature. Besides, I doubt that it would delay the game’s progress more than a day or two in total, so I guess it isn’t as much of a big deal. You may be desperate for Osana and other important features, but just be patient.

      • You looked way too much into my comment. Just thinking if the easter egg was the only reason to play the game, it would be stupid.

        Calm down.

      • Dude, it barely took a minute to write. Also, your thought was kind of stupid as well, why would he play it JUST for the easter egg? After all, he is interested in games, geez.

    • You won’t even be able to get past the first week in the demo. After you have eliminated Osana and then end the week there will play a cutscene where Senpai meets the second rival as a teaser.

  3. Last time I played there were 2 characters that you couldn’t interact with, the girl by the tree who never moved and the nurse

  4. Its an awesome easter egg but the E button makes it harder to attack people.. also the E needs to be held down which makes it damn near impossible to chase down a victim so it lost its appeal to me quickly

  5. Not sure if it’s intentional or not, but activating Hunger Mode causes the atmosphere to be permanently lowered to 20%, even if the day is reset without anyone being killed. Resetting the entire week or changing the atmosphere back to high through the debug menu can still restore it to 100%. Also the spats are now invisible in the Change Panties menu.

    • The darkened atmosphere intentional. On the opposite, the spats should still work (I can see them in the latest build): could it be such bug occurs only after using the debug menu?
      P.S.: NAAAAAAAIIIIIIIIIIL!.

      • The atmosphere is definitely intentional for the Easter Egg, but I would have assumed it would revert back to normal once the Easter Egg was deactivated. I thought the spats thing was probably endemic to mine, though it was still like that when I redownloaded it. I don’t think it’s the debug menu triggering it since that was the first thing I checked after redownloading it.

  6. I was reading through what he fixed in the game and I saw one that said “fixed bug that was preventing the photo gallery from displaying pictures that player had taken” and I was relieved cuz I was starting to wonder what the heck was wrong with with my photo gallery on yandere simulator…

  7. Excuse me, it’s the first time I write I do not want to be a nuisance, I just wanted to ask, if Ayano has many rivals, Taro would not have at least one? I say in the sense of competition for the love of her, ah part of that thanks for giving a great effort to a very fun and surprising game

    • Of course not, mainly for two reasons. First senpai isn’t particularly interested in any girl (he’ll just accept confessions from girls he knows and like: he probably doesn’t even know Yan-chan’s name); second, the game focuses on Ayano, not on Taro, there would be no means nor plot justifications to allow him to fight for Ayano.

  8. YandereDev! YandereDev!
    Your game is a maximum !! but …
    when I entered the demo, (in Ayano’s room) I went to put a panties on the character and I saw that she had a transparent panties !!
    Is this more of a game bug?
    This will be a mystery this week …

  9. I’d love to join your stream, but it seems that I’m a bit late to the party! It was a shame after spending an hour decoding by hand, but maybe I can find a recording of it online somewhere. I guess that’s just what I get for not staying updated haha

  10. On January 17th, 2009, I streamed a video game for the first time. It completely changed my life; once I experienced the thrill of playing video games while interacting with a big audience, I didn’t want to do anything else! For a period of several years, I streamed every day, usually for 12 hours straight!

    Many years have passed since then, and streaming is now very low on my priority list. However, every year, on January 17th, I take a day off to replay the first game I ever streamed: Resident Evil 4. And on January 19th, I take another day off to replay the second game I ever streamed: Mystical Ninja Starring Goemon.

    If you’d like to join me, you can find me at twitch.tv/yanderedev starting at 12:00 noon in the PST timezone. Even if you only pop in for a few minutes just to say hello, I would be very happy to see you there!

    Pronounced: “OHn JAEahnooah-raae 17te-ha, 2009, EE see-te-raeayahmeay-de ah fuee-deeayoh geahmeay feoh-ra te-haeay feee-ra-see-te teeemeay. EE-te kuohm-pe-lueay-teeay-luae ku-haahn-geeay-de mae luee-feeay; ohn-kueay EE eayx-peeay-raeeeayn-kueay-de te-haeay te-ha-raee-lu-lu oh-fe pe-luahaeeen-ge fuee-deeayoh geahmeay-see w-haee-lueay een-teeay-raah-ku-teeen-ge wee-te-ha ah baeee-ge ahoo-deeeeayn-kueay, EE deee-den’te wahn-te teoh deoh ahnae-te-haeen-ge eay-lu-seeeay! FEoh-ra ah peeay-raeeoh-de oh-fe seeeay-fueay-raah-lu aeeayah-ra-see, EE see-te-raeayahmeay-de eay-fueay-raae deahae, oo-seeooah-lu-luae feoh-ra 12 haohoo-ra-see see-te-raahee-ge-ha-te!

    Mahnae aeeayah-ra-see haah-fueay peah-see-seeeay-de seeeen-kueay te-haeayn, ahn-de see-te-raeayahmeen-ge ee-see nohw fueay-raae luohw ohn mae pe-raeeoh-raee-teae luee-see-te. HAohweay-fueay-ra, eay-fueay-raae aeeayah-ra, ohn JAEahnooah-raae 17te-ha, EE teah-kukeay ah deahae oh-fe-fe teoh raeay-pe-luahae te-haeay feee-ra-see-te geahmeay EE eay-fueay-ra see-te-raeayahmeay-de: RAeay-seeee-deeayn-te EAY-fuee-lu 4. AHn-de ohn JAEahnooah-raae 19te-ha, EE teah-kukeay ahnoh-te-haeay-ra deahae oh-fe-fe teoh raeay-pe-luahae te-haeay seeeay-kuohn-de geahmeay EE eay-fueay-ra see-te-raeayahmeay-de: Mae-see-teee-kuah-lu Neen-jaeah SEE-teah-ra-raeen-ge GEoheaymohn.

    EE-fe aeohoo’de luee-kukeay teoh jaeoheen meay, aeohoo kuahn feeen-de meay ah-te tewee-te-ku-ha.te-fu/aeahn-deeay-raeay-deeay-fu see-teah-ra-teeen-ge ah-te 12:00 nohohn een te-haeay PE-SEE-TE teeemeayzohneay. EAY-fueayn ee-fe aeohoo ohn-luae peoh-pe een feoh-ra ah feeayw meenoo-teeay-see jaeoo-see-te teoh seeahae haeay-lu-luoh, EE wohoo-lu-de baeeay fueay-raae haah-pe-peae teoh seeeayeay aeohoo te-haeay-raeay!

Leave a comment