New build now, new video soon

I usually upload new builds and videos simultaneously – but today is an exception. My next video will contain a really big announcement, so I’ve scheduled it for 8:00 AM PST, a time when more people will be awake. (That’s about 6 hours away from when this blog post goes up.)

I’ve uploaded a new build of the game. To read about everything is new and different in the latest build, scroll down beneath this beautiful drawing by flannel_kun!

Changes and Additions

  • Changed the shade of pink that covers the screen when Yandere-chan is near Senpai. Previously, it was 100% magenta. Now, it’s a lighter shade of pink that matches the game’s branding.
  • Fixed bug in Pose Mode that would cause graphical errors with the teachers’ textures if trying to change a teacher’s hairstyle.
  • If you go into the Settings menu and press the spacebar on your keyboard, you can toggle experimental graphics settings.
  • Kokona won’t try to begin her cooking event if Yandere-chan is already cooking in the kitchen at the time of the event.
  • Fixed bug that was causing the incinerator’s sound effect to be heard even when nowhere near the incinerator.
  • It is now possible to customize a female student’s stockings in Pose Mode.
  • Fixed bug that was preventing Cyborg Mode from working properly.
  • Added two new hair models for Yandere-chan.
  • Added one new accessory for Yandere-chan.
  • Adjusted Saki Miyu’s hair model.

Osana Progress?

Extremely significant progress has been made on Osana – unrelated to code – but I have not had much time to actually sit down and write code lately. You’ll know what has been eating up my time once you see my next video, when it goes live about 6 hours from now. Because of the exciting events that I’m going to describe in my next video, I am now more hyped than ever to work on Osana!

I think that March 1st ~ March 15th is finally going to be the time period when I will proudly be able to say that I’ve finally made significant code-related progress on Osana for the first time since January. I am really pumped up about this! Once again, I apologize that it is taking so long for me to get Osana ready for you. Game development is full of unexpected twists and turns.

Overwork?

After my second “What’s Taking So Long?” video, I received hundreds of supportive messages encouraging me to take better care of myself. I’ve decided to take the advice that I’ve been given. It’s very important to me to continue making steady progress on Yandere Simulator, so I’m still going to work on it 7 days a week, but I’m going to cut down the number of hours that I work. I’m reducing my work hours to about 10 hours per day. I’ll still only take off one day per month.

To relax and unwind after a day of work, I’ve been streaming video games to twitch.tv; if you’re interested, you can come watch me. I usually start streaming every night at 12 midnight in the PST timezone. By the way, I absolutely need to take off an entire day to stream The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild when it comes out, and you’re welcome to come watch me! (If I don’t get it on release day, I will definitely stream it the day afterwards.)

Thank you for your patience, and thank you for following the development of Yandere Simulator!

52 thoughts on “New build now, new video soon

  1. This sounds A.MA.ZING! You’ve outdone yourself YandereDev, so I think we’re all pleased to hear that you’ll be cutting down your workload substantially. Nobody should have to work day AND night, so that’s awesome to hear!! Can’t wait for your video to come out even though it’ll be six hours from now and in my timezone it’ll be three in the morning. I’ll probably watch it first thing when I wake up though, so 😛 THE HYPE IS SO REAL NOW! Take care of yourself, YanDev!!

  2. This is fantastic 😀 Not only are you cutting down our workload so you don’t have to work day and night, but you will be able to get more relaxation 😀 Can’t wait for the new video to come out soon! Too bad I won’t be able to watch it straight away due to school 😦 Thanks for being amazing!

  3. YAAAAY FINALLY YOU CAN ENJOY YOUR LIFE! 🙂 I’m so happy for you yandere dev, and all those heated fans aren’t true fans. Keep being awesome!

  4. I honestly can’t wait!! You should stream/film some other popular games while examining for features you’s like to have in yandere simulator. Like you did with natsuiro highschool! Games like the last of us or the walking dead could have good features. Even games like life is strange which is completely different to yansim might have some cool features. Maybe ask the fans what other games they enjoy and why? Do they enjoy the emotional factor of the walking dead? The choices matter mechanic of life is strange? It could help you figure out what features would draw people in. I personally LOVE choice games, they make sure no play through is the same, every time you play you discover another little thing. Anyone else agree?

  5. I would love to watch the stream for Breath of the Wild (I’m as hyped as you, man. I’m so ready for this game), but I’m poor and probably won’t have it by then and spoilers 😭😭😭

  6. It’s great that you take more time for yourself now!I’m very happy that we all could sho you that we dont want that you work too hard!That’s a good decision to take 2 hours of your daily work away.I Hope this gives you tmeto watch some anime or play videogames.We all will wait patienly for Osana and hope that your health is getting better,because so much work without free-time is not healthy.I’m also very excited for you Zelda stream! ❤ I also know that it will be great to watch this game if you play it!Now I'm more happy to wait for Osana and following you/Yandere Simualtor because you will no longer be overworked! x3 (Okay 10 hours are much too but it's less then 12 hours per day :3 ) Also now you can watch animes or play video games!That's so great! X3

  7. I wonder if the announcement has anything to do with Crush Crush again, the devs of that game were talking about some girls from CC being added to yandere simulator

  8. Well, I’m glad you’re lowering your work hours a bit, your health is very important, 10 hours a day is still quite a lot, but hope it will work out better for your health and sanity 🙂

  9. You should stop posting at midnight, it’s very disappointing to stay up that late just to find out that the update was delayed. An easy solution to this would be to update the game during the day.

  10. CONGRATULATIONS!

    Seriously, this is good news IMHO.

    This is the payoff for all your hard work over the last 2-3 years. You’ve not only come up with a good concept for a game and built up the alpha/playtest of that game, but you’ve proven the markability of the product and built up the pre-sales market. This is a game the company can be confident in completing with successful resuls.

    Only adjusting things to ensure a “mature” ESRB rating is a great move, and I’m willing to bet they have people (or access to them) that can help navigate the ESRB rules to ensure YanSim can pass.

    For yourself, it solidifies not only your ability to guide a concept to a proven stage but your methodology around building and designing opening to create an initial market full of fans.

    Good luck and thank you for designing Yandere Simulator 😉

    • seriously, her new hair looks f#cking horrible!!! Who gives a sh*t if it has hair physics??! Please give us an option for the old hair for her and Koharu, I hate Saki’s new one so f#cking muuuuch…

  11. certainly like your web site but you have to check the spelling on quite a few of your posts. Many of them are rife with spelling problems and I find it very troublesome to tell the truth nevertheless I’ll certainly come back again.

  12. I’m so proud of all the progress you’ve made!! I’ve been playing this since there was only a bare minimum of students, and now it’s really coming together. However, let’s be realistic, ten hours per day seven days a week is still a lot. I’m still glad that you’re taking more time for yourself, but if you ever need more, please do so!! I promise we’ll support you. Thanks so much for this new build! 😀

  13. Pingback: All Yandere Devs Blog Posts so you know what this game is about | Indie Game Builds 2017

  14. Pingback: A couple of YandereDevs Posts | Indie Game Builds 2017

  15. The subsequent time I read a weblog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as much as this one. I mean, I do know it was my option to read, but I really thought youd have one thing attention-grabbing to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something that you may fix for those who werent too busy in search of attention.

Leave a comment