A New Nemesis for 2017

In 2015, I saw this illustration. It was an extremely memorable illustration, and I fell in love with it right away. While I was still just considering the idea of adding a “Hunter” or “Pursuer” to Mission Mode, and trying to imagine what she might look like, the girl from that illustration was the first thing that came to mind. I used that illustration as reference when I asked for the first official concept artwork of what Nemesis might look like.

A few days ago, I was contacted by the artist of that illustration. He told me that he felt uncomfortable with how similar Nemesis’ design was to his original design, and politely asked me to differentiate Nemesis from his character. I want to be respectful towards an artist whose work I admire, so I’ve decided to honor his request and modify Nemesis’ design.

The artist of the illustration that inspired Nemesis told me that it’s okay for me to keep Nemesis’ current hair color and eye color, but that she requires a new hairstyle. I’ve asked kjech, Yandere Simulator’s character artist, to design a new hairstyle for Nemesis. Here are the designs that he came up with:

(#1 and #5 may look very similar, but there are differences; #1 is more shaggy, and #1 is more tidy.)

(The artist of the illustration that inspired Nemesis told me that he’d approve of any of the above hair designs.)

I’d like to ask the Yandere Simulator community to vote on what hairstyle we should use for Nemesis moving forward! But first, there’s one other thing I’d like to mention…

While we’re waiting for one of my 3D modelling volunteers to model a new hairstyle for Nemesis, she will need to wear a temporary placeholder hairstyle on her head. A new build of the game will be released very soon; either on January 1st, or on January 2nd. In that build of the game, Nemesis will be using the following hairstyle:

(You may recognize this as a modified version of Yandere-chan’s original hairstyle from 2014. The “bobcat ears” have been removed.)

Okay! Now that you have all of the information required to make an informed decision about this subject, here is a link to the poll so you can vote on the hairstyle that Nemesis should use from now on:

http://poal.me/vqa5ru

I’m aware that many people have become attached to Nemesis’ current appearance, and will very disappointed that her design needs to change. Please try to understand that I don’t want to do anything that would cause ill feelings between me and an artist that I respect. It’s a little sad to say goodbye to her previous hairstyle, but ultimately, it’s the right thing to do.

Thanks for understanding!

216 thoughts on “A New Nemesis for 2017

  1. I’ve just read through all the comments, and learned a little more about the artist. Apparently, the artist (I’m lazy so I’ll call them A) has worked with other people’s OC s without their permission, then (hypocritically) complained when theirs (with no copyright might I add) ‘was stolen’ (read: inspired someone) and added to a game. People have also pointed out that A can’t own all black haired red eyed schoolgirls and that that is actually a kind of generic idea. I can’t really convey everyone’s points without making this extremely long, but all in all, A seems like a whiny, unreasonable, hypocritical, arse.

    • Lmao Nemesis used the EXACT same design as the artist’s drawing, Dev wasn’t “inspired” by it at all. He probably just took the photo, sent it to a volunteer and said “Here, model this. Don’t make any changes or anything, it’s meant to look exactly the same.” It’s literally the exact same hair, how is that “being inspired”? It’s not. Just because the artist has done things that are wrong doesn’t mean it’s okay to literally steal their design.

      • I never said that Yandev was completely right, but he made amends to an artist that doesn’t even deserve this. Can I also point out that Nemesis is not walking hair, and therefore the fact that they have exactly the same hair does by no definition mean that they are the same. Maybe you should look at the picture again.

  2. I just can’t keep a straight face while I look at these.
    I barely notice the hair, I can only focus on how she’s looking at you like you peed in her cheerios or something x3

  3. Well i didnt know you change model for nemesis. For me the original nemesis is the best than new. :v she more like hitman when at original model.

Leave a comment