January 12th Bug-Fixing Build

There were a couple of bugs in the last build which felt like very significant issues that I should fix right away, so I’ve prepared a new build.

As always, I’ll provide a list of everything that was added / changed / fixed in the latest update…but, first, let me share something with you!

On April 20th, 2014 – less than a month into Yandere Simulator’s development – an illustrator created some concept art for the design of the main character:

Why am I sharing it with you now, almost 10 years later? There’s a reason! Click Continue Reading to find out!

The highly skilled artist who I featured yesterday, _kirnx, created a gorgeous re-imagining of that 2014 concept art:

I absolutely love seeing stuff like this! It’s one of those, “Everything has come full circle!” kind of moments.

Improvements

  • The text that displays at the “Ready?” screen of Custom Mode has been adjusted to highly encourage the player to back up their Custom Mode data so that they don’t lose it whenever they update to the latest build of the game. Hint hint. HINT HINT!
  • In Custom Mode, a new option has been added to the Miscellaneous Options menu – the player can now decide whether or not they’d like to be able to befriend the student council in their Custom Mode play-through.
  • From now on, whenever the player highlights a location or an action in Custom Mode, some text will appear on the right side of the screen to explain where that location is, or what that action does.
  • When using the “Void Goddess” debug feature in Custom Mode, the student portraits that appear will now be the students you designed instead of being the 1980s Mode students.

Fixes

  • In Custom Mode, if the player designed a male student with “Invincible” strength and attacked them, the game would softlock. This bug has been fixed. (From now on, if the player attacks an Invincible male student, there will be animation bugs, but the game will proceed normally. I won’t be able to fix these animation bugs without help from an animator.)
  • After leaving a gift on Senpai’s desk, you can’t buy another gift until the next day, when the store restocks. However, the store was displaying “You have already purchased this” text instead of “Out of Stock” text, confusing players as to whether or not they actually had the item in their inventory. This bug has been fixed.
  • If the player attempted to give a character the routine of “Guard”, the character would walk in place forever. This feature has been fixed. Characters instructed to “Guard” will now follow the rival around school like a bodyguard. (If a rival is instructed to “Guard”, she will follow Senpai.)
  • Senpai’s event-obligatory actions (putting a bento on his desk after receiving a bento from the week’s current rival) would cause him to forget about the customized routine he had been given. This bug has been fixed.
  • Attempted to fix bug that was causing students to get stuck pathfinding on benches around school. Let me know if you still notice students getting stuck on benches after this update.
  • After saving and loading your Custom Mode hangout and patrol spots, they would appear to be rotated in the wrong direction upon reloading. This bug has been fixed.
  • Fixed bug that would cause Senpai to get stuck at his locker at the end of the day and never proceed to his end-of-day rival interaction events.
  • 1980s Mode Senpai’s face was appearing in 202X Mode when leaving a note on Senpai’s desk. This bug has been fixed.
  • Fixed bug that would cause characters’ legs to stretch out and twitch when playing certain animations.
  • Fixed bug that would cause Ayano to load into Mission Mode wearing the 1980s Mode Yakuza uniform.
  • Changed “Ichikou” to “Ichiko” in the alternate timeline sequence where her name appeared.

67 thoughts on “January 12th Bug-Fixing Build

  1. After hours of creating my Custom Mode and Save Data, when I started the game my character ended up with a white body. I fixed my character’s error by changing uniforms and Save Data again, but now some characters have white bodies. It doesn’t matter if I reload the game, create a new game or restart it, the error is still there. I’ll try to see if it doesn’t happen anymore in this version, but if not, I hope you can fix this bug soon, Yandere Dev. Good luck.

      • It looks like the issue is now resolved, thanks YandereDev. One more thing, it makes sense that in custom mode you can’t have the “dream” when eating ramen because you’re not of the Aishi lineage. But I think too no we should see Sumire Saitosaki as a rival when we use Yandere Vision in the school, technically in custom mode the protagonist is not Ryoba.I’ll try the new updates now that I have more time. Once again thank you and good luck.

  2. Yandere Dev how does the Custom patrol thing work and also the timed events or whatever it is how do they work because im not really sure what the words like “SocialBench” mean could you please explain it because i cant find a tutorial for it anywhere

  3. Whenever i load my Custom Mode save file i face one problem.Instead of a characters i made i see completly random characters which i didn’t make.Please just fix that already.

    • Whenever you update to a new build, the game won’t be aware of anything you created in Custom Mode in any previous build of the game! If there is anything you’ve created using Custom Mode that you want to retain access to, you need to back up the following files from your current build of the game:

      YandereSimulator\Assets\StreamingAssets\CustomMode (the entire directory)
      YandereSimulator\Assets\StreamingAssets\PortraitsCustom (the entire directory)
      YandereSimulator\Assets\StreamingAssets\JSON\Custom.json
      YandereSimulator\Assets\StreamingAssets\JSON\CustomTopics.json
      YandereSimulator\Assets\StreamingAssets\JSON\Misc.json

      …and then drag-and-drop those files into the new build once you download it.

      This will always be true of every build! It’s true of your save data, too! Always remember this, so that you never lose any Custom Mode data or save data that is important to you!

  4. I always admire every update, and I never notice that “If the player attempted to give a character the routine of “Guard”, the character would walk in place forever. This feature has been fixed. Characters instructed to “Guard” will now follow the rival around school like a bodyguard. (If a rival is instructed to “Guard”, she will follow Senpai.)” was even there, thank you for reminding me! You are an amzing developer! Love to you ❤

  5. Hey Yandere Dev! Love the new updates and custom mode! I’ve been waiting for this for years! Anywho here’s a suggestion i’d like to see: In the “Randomize all” button, the player would have the ability to filter elements like keep routine, animations ect..

  6. Hey Yanderedev, you are a great game developer. I wonder if there will be a continuation of the Lovesick series. If so, I would love to help you. We are waiting for new updates every day. We love you. By the way, I cannot install the special mode. Can you help me with this? 🙂 ❤

  7. there is a bug in custom mode that makes the protag not able to move or do anything after classtime. And the screen remains white..

  8. hello i have some problem, after i save and close the game, my custom mode is replaced by a normal one where kaguya is the first rival and not the one i designed, i know it should be writting custom instead of her name… how to fix? i also saved the data thing, and it still happens

  9. When choosing the 202X mode uniform in Custom Mode, when entering the school, the uniform is all white, I hope it fixes this bug !

  10. In a future big update, do you think you could change the 1980s club rooms to match the aesthetics of the music, science, and newspaper clubs??? It’s kinda boring that its the same club room just a different time. For 1980, I say just scrap the occult club entirely and replace it with a sewing club that you can join and make gifts for senpai in.

  11. YANDERE DEV ADD GYARU BULLIES HAIR AND GYARU ACCESSORY FOR PROTAGONIST. PLEASEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

  12. Yo Yandere Dev, I wanted to make a custom character that is a member of the music club, but I wanted it to be a boy, is there a way we can change the gender of the characters? Also, I’d really appreciate it if we could change the skin tone of the girls in custom mode 🙏 I also had the idea of custom tasks, they don’t necessarily have to be new tasks, but rather give the characters an already existing task in game.

  13. Yo Yandev, I was playing around with custom mode and wanted to customize a member of the music club, but all the members were girls and I wanted to make a boy. Also, I would really appreciate it if we had the option to change the girls’ skin tone 🙏 Also, I had this idea of “custom tasks” where you picked an already existing task to have the character have as a task. I don’t know if I explained myself well. Anyways, sorry for any inconvenience 😅

  14. There’s a bug, after going to class while a corpse is burning on the art room incinerator, I can’t use the incinerator for the rest of the day. It claims that I must wait the corpse is done burning but there aren’t any corpses or a timer in the art room incinerator, can you please fix it?

  15. Hey Yandere Dev i have a suggestion for the game can u make it possible to adjust the keys to the players liking i’ve wanted to play the game but the keys confuse me so i cant even move if i try playing so i was wondering if you could maybe make it possible to adjust the keyboard keys to the players liking so they know what keys do what and how to move cause for me im used to using the arrow keys to move around cause thats whats i prefer and find easiest for me btw custom mode looks awesome! keep it up!

  16. A mí me pasa que cuando volví a descargar el juego me salía que estaba jugando la actualización del 12 de enero y me salí y ahora que me volví a meter al juego me sale que estoy jugando la actualización del 10 de enero no sé qué hacer porque desearía experimentar hacerse amistad del concejo estudiantil siempre antes de que hubiera actualizaciones me lo imaginaba, aunque fuera algo estupid#.

  17. Also another idea i had was adding more students and characters to custom mode instead of just the current number idk just seems fun to have a lot of people running around ontop the the original rivals and everything

  18. Yandere Dev, I have a question, will the canon methods for eliminating rivals in 1980s mode be the same methods for eliminating rivals in 202X mode?

  19. The info screen has a glitch where if you scroll onto a any student, and then click off, and then click the student again, it will give you the info, if you do it really fast. So, I’m not sure if it’s still present in the game And also it gives you a negative point.

  20. In the future, will we be able to edit opponents’ tasks? I have the problem with the Rival 1, her socks change to pink even though I have changed them in the custom mode

  21. I have a question about a potential bug? I genuinely cannot tell if its my computer or not. When i try to speed up time using ctrl+e, the protag will just automatically begin laughing. It’s not a giggle, full ass evil laughing and it makes me lose the game instantly. I just wanna know if this is happening to anyone else.

  22. Hey YanDev! Super sorry to have to nag you, but in custom mode if you choose the down hairstyle that Ryoba wears at home and try to have it as your in game hairstyle- it switches to Ryoba’s ponytail once you enter the school. I don’t know if this was intentional or something’s wrong.

  23. Why has my comment been removed from the last blog? but how can I tell Yandere dev or send him a mesxsage when he doesn’t reply nor i can’t communicate on discord because i got banned few months ago? Is Because I found a bug

  24. hi yandev! Whenever I make a new Custom mode file and choose Reiichi’s hairstyle for my Senpai, it turns white in game when I load in. Even if I change the hairstyle of the actual Reiichi while using Reiichi’s original hairstyle on Senpai, Senpai’s hair still turns white whenever I use that specific hair. Is this a bug or a glitch? If its a bug, when will it be possibly fixed? If its a glitch, do you know how I can possibly fix it?

Leave a comment